30
Apr
10

Heaven

Just this past month, I was asked to speak on Heaven.  Of course, I have no real knowledge of the place, so I am reduced to my own imagination.  And then America Magazine did a piece on the subject.  While it was too late for my presentation, I found it quite insightful.

The hosts interviewed Lisa Miller, who talks about her new book Heaven: Our Enduring Fascination with the Afterlife.  Miller explains that the idea of heaven comes from the Jewish tradition, but was embroidered later by Christians and Muslims, who have at various times imagined heaven as a place where one is reunited with friends and family, and a venue for sensual pleasures unavailable in this mortal life.

While researching her book, Miller spoke with Trappist monks and scholars of religion, among many others, about the otherworldly place Emily Dickinson called “what I cannot reach.”

DOWNLOAD: HEAVEN IS WHAT I CANNOT REACH (23 minutes)

Credits:  “Heaven is What I cannot Reach”  America Magazine Podcast.  Interview.  New York:  America Magazine,  March 22, 2010.

0 Responses to “Heaven”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

